As mentioned before my in-laws live in Newfoundland.  This has been hard since it’s so far from us and flights are more expensive than flights to Europe!  So sadly we don’t get to see them as often as we’d like to.  But my MIL is awesome at keeping in touch and sending us things.  Every year she bottles blueberries, bakeapples, cranberries and moose and sends it our way through the mail.  The berries come cooked with little sugar which is perfect as jam, toppings on ice cream and pie fillings.  I’ve been trying to find several different recipes for the bakeapples since all I know to do with them is eat them on ice cream or on a cheesecake.  I found this one and tried it the other night.  It’s pretty good.  I just can’t figure out how to deal with the “stinky” smell of the berries so others might be more inclined to try them!

Photo courtesy of Dark Tickle

Bakeapple crumble

2 cups flour
2 cups oats
1 cup sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup butter

Blend & cover bottom of greased pan with 1/2 of mixture. Cover with bakeapple jam and other 1/2. Bake at 350 F until brown.  Best served warm and you can top with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

