We were snow bound yesterday since I have yet to put on the snow tires and I spent Tuesday spinning the tires everywhere I went.  So we stayed home and baked.  I realized though that not going out meant not getting butter which is needed in pretty much all of my baking recipes.  So I googled and found that the vegans know how to deal with this!  I found this recipe called the best pumpkin muffins and even though I adapted the recipe a little since I didn’t some of the ingredients on hand they really are the best!

Butter-free Pumpkin Muffins

1 3/4 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground allspice
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1 cup pureed pumpkin
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup canola oil
2 tablespoons maple syrup

1/2 cup craisins (I used blueberry flavored)

Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices. Add and whisk together pumpkin, milk, oil, and syrup.  Fill the muffin cups two-thirds full.

Bake for 18-20 minutes at 400F.

