This recipe came from Donna Gray’s column in the Calgary Herald Neighbours Recipe Box a couple years ago.  I believe she credited it to an epicurean.com recipe.  Either way it was delicious.  I made the mistake though of using a jalapeno I had thrown in the freezer.  Once those things freeze they are 10 time hotter!!  I managed to find a friend who could handle the heat of the soup and he LOVED it!  Next time I simply won’t put as much heat!

Butternut Squash Coconut Soup

1 tsp oil
1/2 onion chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
3 1/2 cups chicken soup stock
1 medium squash peeled seeded chopped
1 small jalapeño pepper fi ely chopped (for added heat I froze them and then used it for this recipe)
1 can coconut milk
1/2 cup chopped lemon grass
1/4 cup soya sauce
Juice of 1/2 lime
Sugar to taste

Cook oil, onion, garlic until browned. Add stock, squash, jalapeño. Summer 10-15 minutes. Add coconut milk, lemongrass, soy sauce & sugar. Simmer 10-12 minutes. Purée & strain. Add lime juice & sugar if needed.

