I figured I should write these down so that I’d remember them for the future.  This was an easy delicious pizza and would even be great cut into small pieces as an appetizer for parties.  Sadly I am out of my fig balsamic jam now that I will need to make another batch before making this again.

I started with Pioneer Woman’s pizza dough but substituted a 1/2 cup of flour for whole wheat flour.  It meant the dough was not as smooth to work with but had a nice taste to it.  I made one batch of this and spread it out in a greased cookie sheet.  Then made each pizza on one side of the dough and just cut it after it came out of the oven.

Pizza 1:

caramelized onions – I used 1/2 white onion, 1 tbsp olive oil, pinch of salt and pinch of brown sugar.  I cooked them ahead of time.

gruyere cheese shreeded

bacon – this was pre-cooked so if it’s raw I would cook it a little before hand

fig balsamic jam – this is what I made for Christmas gifts this year and it went over superbly!

Spread jam on pizza dough.  Sprinkle with cheese and payer bacon and onions

Pizza 2:

caramelized onions

gorgozolla cheese

orange pepper – cook in skillet for a couple minutes before adding it

gruyere cheese

Sprinkle gruyere cheese add onions & peppers.  Cut small chunks of gorgonzolla and drop all over the top.

 

Place pizza in oven at 350F for about 20 minutes until cheese is all melted.  Cut into pieces and serve.  The fig was the most popular but all pieces were eaten up between 4 people.

