I usually try to get some homemade baking done over the holidays for gifts and last minute items to take along to parties.  This year I’ve tried out a few things so far:

1) Creamy Double Decker Fudge from Bits of Everything – this looked so easy and it actually was!  It tastes good and the kids liked it.  I also like that it uses reese peanut butter chips so I don’t find it too peanutty (although obviously it still is!)

2) Fig & Balsamic Jam from Bitchin’ Camero – I LOVE this recipe!  I made it last year and it’s absolutely fabulous on sandwiches.  It’s also so easy to make.  Last year I processed them so people could keep them longer but since everyone ate it right away I decided to just make it and throw it in the fridge this year.

3) Spicy Cookies from Deanna’s Daughter – I had these at her place and they were so good I HAD to try them.  I’ll be trying a second batch though since I don’t think I added enough pepper and cayenne – there just wasn’t any spice to them.  The kids loved them though so still worth making!

4) Marshmallow Snowballs – my MIL makes these every year and are my husband’s favorite Christmas treat.  They are time consuming but definitely a favorite!  My MIL makes them with large marshmallows and then once set cuts them in half since they end up very large.  This year I also tried it with mini marshmallows.  I really like the bite size version but it sure does take more time!!  The kids helped em make this and though it was messy we all had a lot of fun.  Here’s the recipe which can also be found here:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3 tablespoons baking cocoa
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 3 1/2 cups flaked coconut
  • 32 large marshmallows (I also used mini marshmallows)

In a saucepan, combine the butter, milk, cocoa and vanilla. Cook and stir over medium heat until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Remove from the heat; stir in cracker crumbs and 1-1/2 cups coconut. Let stand until cool enough to handle.This part is so important.  I was impatient last year and tried while it was still warm – it was a mess and they never set!

Using moistened hands, wrap about 1 tablespoon of mixture around each marshmallow (dip hands in water often to prevent sticking). Roll in remaining coconut; place on wax covered baking sheet. Cover and freeze until firm. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator or freezer. May be frozen for up to 2 months.

